Who’s afraid of colored contacts?

contacts

I recently got myself a very controversial pair of blue-colored contact lenses. My eyes are naturally dark brown and, little did I know, apparently wearing contacts to make your eyes blue or green is somewhat of a badly seen thing. Although most people said it looked natural, they also preferred my brown eyes, which was a surprise to me, because I always found blue eyes prettier. 

They last a whole year, and so far I’ve been wearing them everyday, somewhat as a novelty thing but also I have been enjoying the change in my looks. I’ve dyed my hair a darker shade of chestnut brown and I think the blue eyes make a fine combination with that. They are dark enough that I don’t look like a zombie or anything. It’s cool to change for a while, I think people should care a little bit less about this whole “be natural” discourse. I already hear it enough when it comes to discussions about wearing make-up (and hate it, not only because I am a huge make-up fan, but because I believe that well-applied make-up looks absolutely better than no make-up at all, and makes you look ‘natural’ and ‘healthy’ – but that’s a topic for a different post, I suppose). 

After doing a lot of research on the subject, I found out that actually most celebrities that have natural blue or green eyes wear colored contacts on red carpet events or movies anyway, because they eyes look brighter. There’s also lots of rumors about people like Jennifer Anniston or Megan Fox not being naturally blue-eyed. I don’t really care, I think they’re beautiful. I just think people should be more realistic when it comes to tricks that Hollywood uses to enhance their celebrities, because we can use those tricks to our favor! 

So I picked out some pictures of what I believe are cool-looking people wearing colored contacts. I only chose ones that I know FOR SURE are fake, because I don’t want to give away false information or anything… 

kim kardashian

This is Kim Kardashian (who, to be perfectly honest, I am not a huge fan of personally) wearing what I believe to be super natural looking contacts. They look like a grey-blueish tone, that is great for people with naturally brown eyes like hers. 

pink and blue

This is just an edgy-look that I picked out. Probably Photoshop rather than lenses, but it is just a reminder that they can be a fun thing to play with! 

blue contacts

Here is also a pair of very natural looking blue eyes. I like the contrast they have with the brown hair and the fair skin. That is why I picked out blue for myself, other than the fact that my mom and grandmother have blue eyes (so I thought maybe I could trick people, hahaha). 

paris hiltonParis Hilton is well-known for having always worn blue contacts and not giving them up under any circumstances. I do not think her eyes are the most natural looking, but she has worn them for so long I think most people have gotten used to the look. Plus she loves it, so who are we to judge? 

tyra banks

And here’s Tyre Banks in a photo-shoot wearing green contacts. To me they look amazing on her, compliment her skin tone and hair perfectly. If I hadn’t seen her with other eye colors, I would not believe those are not real. She should keep that look for always, in my opinion, but she is usually seen with hazel eyes (I don’t know if hazel are her natural color or not either).

jessica alba

Jessica Alba doesn’t wear contacts at all outside of movie parts. She has naturally dark brown eyes, but I think it’s really cool to see how the blue eyes change the way she looks and make she look very exotic, in my opinion. Those lenses are kind of violet-toned too, which adds to that look. 

lindsay

Lindsay Lohan is a celebrity that has naturally blue eyes, but occasionally wears contacts to make them brighter. That picture probably has a little bit of treatment too, but you can kind of tell that her eyes change from some pictures to others. I personally think it’s a cool way to play with your looks. Her red hair matches the bright blue super well to me.

light-blue-eyes-dark-hair-i6Finally, what I could not finish the post without saying is that even if you wear contacts for only aesthetic reasons, they are something that you are inserting inside your eyes and should be treated with extreme care. They should be always washed before and after application and you should always get help from a professional before getting your first pair. I had never worn any contacts before (I don’t need glasses at all or anything of the sorts), but I still found my pair very easy to adapt to, and I find my lenses to be very comfortable. But each person is different, and of course that if your lenses are causing you any pain, you should seek medical attention right away and take them off. 

I hope this post has helped take away a little bit of the “taboo” that surrounds colored contacts. Honestly, it’s not that big of a deal. People should do the pretty things that make them happy! 

Tchau Tchau! 

Marina

 

3 thoughts on “Who’s afraid of colored contacts?

  1. Loved your article! By chance can you tell what brands work? I have medium- dark brown eyes and have tried fresh look in the color green and you cannot tell any difference. I was just looking for brands or colors that you thought might be noticeable without looking ” alien” ish if that makes sense.

    • Hi Tricia
      I have really dark brown eyes and I get very noticeable – yet relatively natural, most people that don’t know me beforehand don’t even notice they’re fake – blue eyes wearing a brand that’s called “Natural Colors” from Solotica. The name of the color I wear is simply “blue”, and they are year-long lasting contacts, which means they last for a while. When I was just trying them out I got good results from Solotica, the same brand, but with their month-long contacts. What I’ve noticed is that the longer the lens are good for, the better the color is. The daily ones, that are disposable, are barely unnoticeable in my eyes…
      Now, unfortunately, http://www.solotica.com.br/ is a Brazilian brand, and I don’t know if they sell outside the country. What I would recommend doing anyway is going to a eye doctor or a sunglasses store to get them instead of just buying them off of Amazon or something, because they’ll probably know the brands that look better. Also, colors like light blue or light green or crystal look super creepy unless you already have blue eyes, in my experience.
      Hope it helped!

Leave a Reply

